Skip to content


Kentucky Trivia ● Kentucky Tweets

December 10, 1861, the Confederate States of America admitted Kentucky.

December 10, 1861, Confederate General Felix Zollicoffer and his men pushed Union General Albin Shoepf’s forces out of Somerset.

December 10, 1895, William O’Connell Bradley became Kentucky’s 32nd governor and Kentucky’s 1st Republican one.  In his 1st legislative session, he wanted to ban cigarettes, concealed weapons, and gambling at racetracks and church fairs.  Bradley did advance civil rights through his pardon powers and signed an anti-lynching bill.  During this administration came the current Republican/Democrat dynamic we see today.  Their pettiness reached new heights when the governor’s mansion burned while waiting for lawmakers to allocate funds to make needed repairs.  One legislative session ended when the militia rode into Frankfort after the senate failed to elect a U.S. Senator.  The father of the Republican Party in Kentucky died while serving as a U.S. Senator in Washington D.C.

Dec. 10 Bradley
Kentucky’s 1895 Inauguration

Localtonians wish a Happy Birthday to Covington native Una Merkel, born in 1903.

December 10, 1905, Deputy Sheriff Ulysses Grant Holliday, Breathitt County Sheriff’s Office, died as he served a warrant on two brothers.  He and two deputized civilians located the brothers outside of the Jackson city limits and informed them they were under arrest when they shot the sheriff.

December 10, 1907, Augustus E. Willson became the 36th governor of Kentucky.  The 3rd Republican had many enemies, especially after he pardoned several individuals related to the assassination of Governor Gobel.

Dec 10 Willson
Kentucky’s 1907 Inauguration

December 10, 1914, Special Deputy Marshal James Wood, Upton Police Department, died from a gunshot as he arrested a man for robbery in Elizabethtown’s  Louisville & Nashville Railroad depot.

December 10, 1916, Chief of Police Guthrie Diuguid, Murray Police Department, died from a gunshot as he responded to a disturbance call.

December 10, 1921, Deputy Jailer Albert Roberts, Breathitt County Jail, died as seven men broke out of jail who had been sentenced to life.  They also shot the jailer’s daughter and his wife received serious injuries.  Police apprehended four suspects however they never caught the other three.

December 10, 1922, Special Deputy David George Treadway, Menifee County Sheriff’s Office, died from a gunshot while arresting a suspect who had murdered a Federal Prohibition Agent the previous day.

Localtonians wish a Happy Birthday to Jean Byron, born Imogene Audette Burkhart, in 1925 in Paducah.  She is best known for the role of Natalie Lane, Patty Lane’s mother in The Patty Duke Show.

December 10, 1926, The Queen of the Baths, a German silent comedy film starring Louisville native Mary Nolan debuted.

December 10, 1931, American folk singer, union activist, and Clay County native Aunt Molly Jackson recorded her 1st song.

December 10, 1933, Lexington native Thomas Hunt Morgan (1866-1945) became the 1st Kentuckian to win a Nobel Prize.  Morgan distinguished himself as an evolutionary biologist, geneticist, and embryologist.

December 10, 1935, Happy Chandler became the 44th governor of Kentucky and the 41st man to hold the office.

Dec. 10 Chandler
Kentucky’s 1935 Inauguration

Localtonians wish a Happy Birthday to Louisville native Thomas Lee Kirk, born in 1941.

December 10, 1946, Patrolman Auldon LeGrande, Louisville Police Department, succumbed to injuries received two years earlier after a motorcycle accident while on duty.

December 10, 1963, Edward Thompson Breathitt Jr. became the 51st governor of Kentucky.  Breathitt earlier defeated two-time former Governor Happy Chandler in the Democratic primary.  It would be Happy’s last campaign.

Dec.10 Breathitt
Kentucky’s 1963 Inauguration

December 10, 1976, UK graduate William Lipscomb won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his research in nuclear magnetic resonance, theoretical chemistry, boron chemistry, and biochemistry.

December 10, 1977, as top-ranked UK defeated Kansas on “Adolph Rupp Night” in Allen Field House in Lawrence, Kansas, Adolph Rupp died.

Kentucky Trivia:  Kentucky has 13,000 miles of streams, and 1,500 miles of navigable waterways.  The state’s streams pour an estimated 30 billion gallons of water into the Ohio River annually.

December 10, 1991, Brereton Chandler Jones became Kentucky’s 58th governor.

December 10, 1995, Louisville native and former State Supreme Court Justice Charles M. Leibson, who wrought profound changes in Kentucky jurisprudence died, hours before his successor was sworn in.

Tuesday, December 10, 2002, Deputy Jailer Howard E. “Buck” Callis, Trimble County Jail, succumbed to injuries sustained one week earlier when his transportation vehicle was struck by a tractor trailer on the Western Kentucky Parkway in Hopkins County.

December 10, 2006, Army Staff SGT Thomas W. Clemons 37, of Leitchfield, died from a non-combat health-related incident in Operation Iraqi Freedom.

December 10, 2006, Hopkinsville native Artose Pinner ran for 125 yards and three touchdowns for the Vikings, against his old team Detroit.

On December 10, 2009, one year into his presidency, Barack Obama justified war as he accepted the Noble Peace Prize.

bombs 1
Obama’s Bombs Dropped in 2016

On December 10, 2016, University of Louisville sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson won the Heisman Trophy, the 1st player from Louisville to do so.  Lamar became the youngest player to win the award, at just 19 years and 337 days, five days younger than the previous youngest winner, Jameis Winston.

December 10, 2016, Crittenden County native Shelby Hearon passed away.  Shelby authored more than 15 novels, including Footprints, Life Estates, and Owning Jolene, which won an American Academy of Arts and Letters Literature Award.  She received grants from the Ingram Merrill Foundation, the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

December 10, 2019, Andrew Graham Beshear became the 63rd governor of Kentucky.

December 10, 2020, Phizer’s experimental coronavirus vaccine passed a critical FDA milestone for emergency authorization for adults 16 and older.

Positives:  4,324 / 213,450
Deaths:  28 / 2,146 – 1st Death 3/16/20
50&over: 2,089 / 49-30: 54 / 29&under: 3

December 10, 2021, the Labor Department released a report claiming U.S. consumer prices rose in November at the fastest annual pace in 40 years, magnifying inflation.