Skip to content


Kentucky Trivia ● Kentucky Tweets

December 2, 1806, Kentucky created Lewis County from Mason County and was named in honor of Meriwether Lewis, explorer.  The county seat is Vanceburg.  Other cities and towns include: Concord, Garrison, Alburn, Awe, Black Oak, Beechy Creek, Buena Vista, Burtonville, Cabin Creek, Camp Dix, Carrs, Charters, Clarksburg, Cottageville, Covedale, Crum, Emerson, Epworth, Esculapia Springs, Fearis, Firebrick, Fruit, Glenn, Glenn Springs, Gun Powder Gap, Harris, Head of Grassy, Heselton, Irwin, Jacktown, Kinniconick, Kirkville, Laurel, Libbie, Martin, McDowell Creek, McKenzie, Montgomery Creek, Nashtown, Noah, Oak Ridge, Pence, Petersville, Poplar Flat, Quicks Run, Randville, Records, Rexton, Ribolt, Rugless, Saint Paul, Salt Lick, Sand Hill, Stricklett, Sullivan, Tannery, Teutonia, Thor, Tollesboro, Trinity (Trinity Station), Upper Bruce, Valley and Wadsworth.  Lewis County was the 47th county created and covers 495 square miles.

KY 1806
1280px Map of Kentucky highlighting Lewis County.svg
By David Benbennick

December 2, 1806, Kentucky also created Clay County from Madison County, Floyd County, and Knox County.  It was named in honor of Green Clay, Revolutionary War General and western surveyor.  The county seat is Manchester.  Other cities and towns include: Oneida, Beech Creek, Benge, Burning Springs, Datha, Fall Rock, Fogertown, Garrad, Goose Rock, Greenbriar, Hector, Larue and Little Goose.  Clay County was the 46th county created in Kentucky and covers 471 square miles.

1280px Map of Kentucky highlighting Clay County.svg
By David Benbennick

Localtonians wish a Happy Anniversary to Thomas Lincoln and Hardin County native Sarah Bush, who wed in 1819.  Abraham was ten years old when they married.  The future president always addressed her as Mama and later as Mother in his letters.

December 2, 1863, Confederates burned down the Mt. Sterling Courthouse when the Union Army used it as a garrison.  Locals saved the clerk records located in the rear but the circuit records got destroyed.  Twenty-two courthouses burned during the war, 19 in the last 15 months.  Confederates burned twelve courthouses guerrillas burned eight, and the Union Army burned two by mistake.  Roadside History: A Guide to Kentucky Highway Markers edited by Melba Porter Hay, Dianne Wells, Thomas H. Appleton, Jr., Thomas H. Appleton; pg: 30

December 2, 1864, Louisville native James Speed became the 27th U.S. Attorney General.

December 2, 1884, John Martin killed Floyd Tolliver in a barroom brawl.  Before Floyd died, he said, “Boys, remember what you swore to do; you said you would kill him, and you must keep your word.”  John Martin died eight days later.  Approximately twenty murders occurred in the Rowan County War centered in Morehead from August 1884 to June 1887.

Localtonians wish a Happy Anniversary to Knox County native James D. Black, the 39th governor, and Mary Jeanette “Nettie” Pitzer, who married in 1875.  The couple had three children, who all graduated from Centre College.

Localtonians wish a Happy Birthday to Paducah native Fate Marable, born in 1890.  A jazz pianist and bandleader; his band educated many players who would later become prominent in jazz, including Louis Armstrong, Red Allen, Baby Dodds, Johnny Dodds, Pops Foster, Errol Garner, Narvin Kimball, Al Morgan, Jimmy Blanton, Elbert Pee Wee Claybrook, Joe Poston, and Zutty Singleton.

December 2, 1950, the following died fighting in the Korean War.

Chaffin Clifford R. Army PFC from Lawrence County
Conner George W. Army PFC from Russell County
Cooper Harold Ryland Army SFC from Jefferson County
Dotson Lawrence Army CPL from Pike County
Elmore Joe S. Army PVT from Clinton County
Farmer Kenneth W. Army CPL from Union County
Maddox James W. Army SFC from Ohio County
Moore Charles E. Army PFC from Pike County
Phelps John M. Army PVT from Greenup County
Pryor Floyd W. Army CPL from Christian County
Ray Floyd J. Army SGT from Daviess County
Robertson Thomas R. Army PVT from Webster County
Rose Damon Lee Army CPL from Harlan County
Waford Everett W. Army PVT from Jefferson County
Vance Dennis Lee Army SSSG from Hardin County

Localtonians wish a Happy Birthday to Hopkinsville native Mac King, born in 1959.  Mac’s family-friendly show, The Mac King Comedy Magic Show, played at the Harrah’s Las Vegas in the Clint Holmes Theater since 2000.

December 2, 1969, Buck White opened on Broadway starring Muhammad Ali who played a militant black lecturer.  This occurred during his 43-month forced exile from the ring.

December 2, 1971, Army SGT William T. Warren from Louisville and Army SSG Schyler Watts from Vicco in Perry County died fighting in the Vietnam War.

December 2, 1972, Joe B. Hall coached his 1st regular season game as Kentucky’s basketball head coach.  The #13 Cats beat Michigan State 75-66 with Jim Andrews as the leading scorer.  The Wildcats went on to win the SEC.

December 2, 1974, Lincoln Hall, located on Berea College, became a National Historic Landmark.  Built in 1885-87, “Recitation Hall,” as it was known on campus, was the focus of civil rights activities for nearly three-quarters of a century.  Lincoln Hall has been Berea’s administration building since 1914 and underwent a $5.5 million “green” renovation as a result of a collapse of its central interior in 2001.  In 2004, Lincoln Hall became the 1st building in Kentucky to be awarded the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification.

Berea College Lincoln Hall Berea College Berea Madison County Kentucky
By Lance Hill

December 2, 1974, World Heavyweight Champion boxer Muhammad Ali addressed a Nation of Islam meeting at the New Victoria Theatre in London.

December 2, 1983, Louisiana State University introduced Paris native William Stephen “Bill” Arnsparger as their head football coach.  Arnsparger led LSU to two Sugar Bowl berths in three seasons, in 1984 and 1986, both times against Nebraska.

December 2, 1984, Constable Hamilton Ferguson, Sr., Nelson County Constable’s Office, died when a vehicle struck him as he crossed the street to his patrol car immediately after he placed a drunk driver in the back of his cruiser.

December 2, 2000, Male defeated Trinity for the 4A Kentucky State High School Championship 34-14.

December 2, 2000, officials found jockey Chris Antley dead in his home from an accidental overdose.

December 2, 2005, Trinity defeated St. Xavier 14-6 for the 4A Kentucky State High School Championship Gridiron Bowl, played in Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium.

December 2, 2007, Lexington native and writer Elizabeth Bruce Hardwick died in Manhattan.

December 2, 2011, Trinity pounded Scott County 62-21 in the 6A Kentucky State High School Championship Gridiron Bowl.  Feix Field, Houchens/LT Smith Stadium in Bowling Green hosted the game.

December 2, 2015, Governor-elect M. Bevin announced Derrick Ramsey as Secretary of the Labor Cabinet.

December 2, 2019, Georgetown College officials announced that all Scott County students admitted during the next ten years would receive four-year scholarships, worth about $160,000.  Kentucky later expanded this to three other counties.

December 2, 2021, Governor A. Beshear, who skyrocketed to political stardom with his handling of the coronavirus endemic, continued to sound the alarm by stating, “the state again is in an escalation stage, and overall our cases are going up.”  Meanwhile, the national press began laying the groundwork for the hysteria to continue, “Omicron is a spark that’s on the horizon, but the Delta variant is the fire that is here today.”