Thank You For Visiting

December 14, 1796, Montgomery County was created from Clark County and was named in honor of Richard Montgomery, military general killed at the Battle of Quebec.  Mount Sterling is the county seat.  Other cities and towns include: Camargo, Jeffersonville, Judy and Levee.  Montgomery County was the 22nd county created and covers 199 square miles.

December 14, 1796, Bracken County was formed from Campbell County and Mason County and was named in honor of William Bracken, trapper and frontiersman.  Brooksville is the county seat.  Other localities are Augusta,  Foster and Germantown.  Bracken County was the 24th county created and covers 209 square miles.


December 14, 1798, Henry County was created from Shelby County and was named in honor of Patrick Henry, Revolutionary War-era legislator and U.S. founding father.  New Castle is the county seat.  Other cities and towns include: Bethlehem, Campbellsburg, Defoe, Eminence, Franklinton, Lockport, Pendleton, Pleasureville, Port Royal, Smithfield, Sulphur and Turners Station.  Henry County was the 36st county created and covers 291 square miles.

KY 1798

December 14, 1798, Cumberland County was created from Green County and was named for the Cumberland River, which flows through the county. Burksville is the county seat.  Other cities and towns include: Marrowbone, Amandaville, Bakerton, Bow, Dubre, Green Grove, Grider, Judio, Kettle, Modoc, Peytonsburg and Waterview.  Cumberland County was the 37th county created and covers 305 square miles.

December 14, 1798, Gallatin County was created from Franklin County and Shelby County and was named in honor of Albert Gallatin, United States Secretary of the Treasury.  Warsaw is the county seat.  Other cities and towns located in the county include: Glencoe and Sparta.  Gallatin County was the 30th county created, the second smallest and covers 105 square miles.

December 14, 1821, Lawrence County was created from Floyd County and Greenup County and was named in honor of James Lawrence , naval commander during the War of 1812.  Louisa is the county seat.  Other cities and towns include: Blaine, Cherryville, Fallsburg, Kise, Ulysses, Lowmansville and Webbville.  Lawrence County was the 70th county created and covers 420 square miles.

KY 1821

December 14, 1825, Russell County was created from Cumberland County, Adair County and Wayne County and was named in honor of William Russell (1758–1825), pioneer and state legislator.  Jamestown is the county seat.  Other localities in are Russell Springs and Creelsboro.  Russell County was the 81st county created and covers 250 square miles.

KY 1825

Localtonians wishes a Happy Birthday to Miss Kathleen Mulligan in 1889.  Miss Mulligan was the first woman to sit as a judge in Kentucky when appointed as a Lexington municipal judge in 1928 and 1929.  She was also the first woman vice president of the Kentucky Bar Association, first woman on the Kentucky membership committee of the ABA and first woman secretary of the Fayette County Democratic Committee.

December 14, 1882, Belle Brezing of Lexington was pardoned by Governor Luke P. Blackburn for keeping a bawdy House.

December 14, 1899, a meeting took place in the Capital Hotel, providing the first hint of dissension from democrats to contest the November election in which a Republican won the Governor’s mansion.  Goebel, who traveled out of town on inauguration day, returned to Frankfort, having stated he was not eager to contest the election and would leave that up to his party.

December 14, 1907, Town Marshal Albert Clutterbuck, Florence Police Department, was shot and killed by the town’s former marshal who held a grudge against him.  The former marshal blamed Marshal Clutterbuck for being fired from the position earlier in the year.  When the two men encountered each other they exchanged words and the former marshal then produced a gun and fatally shot Marshal Clutterbuck.

December 14, 1923, Deputy Sheriff James Farris Ball, McCreary County Sheriff’s Office, was shot and killed by an unknown person as he was attempting to arrest two suspects.  His partner was also wounded.  Deputy Ball was survived by his wife and two children.

December 14, 1966, Navy PO3 James H. Daulton from Sloans Valley in Pulaski County died in the Vietnam War.

December 14, 1967, Army SFC Louis W. Wadlington from Salem in Livingston County died in the Vietnam War.

December 14, 1970, the survey below ran in the Lexington newspaper.

Dec 14 survey

December 14, 1981, four thousand two hundred gallons of oil spilled into the Cumberland River.  The oil spilled from a corroded pipe leading from an oil well to a storage tank near the river.  The oil was owned by a Kansas firm and was leaking for several days before it was noticed.

Kentucky Trivia:  Kentucky built the first memorial to Union soldiers killed during the Civil War south of the Ohio River.  The monument is located in Vanceburg and pays tribute to 107 local boys who gave their lives fighting for the North.  It is said to be the only memorial to Union soldiers south of the Ohio River.

Dec 13 Monument

On December 14, 1990, the Kentucky lottery became official when legislators passed a bill that created an eight-member lottery board, headed by a president appointed by the governor. 

December 14, 1990, a UK nuclear physics professor announced that he had invented a device that would make airline travel safer by detecting plastic explosives and narcotics hidden in airplane luggage.   

December 14, 1990, Governor Wallace Wilkinson began filming television commercials designed to showcase the accomplishments of his administration.  Wilkerson’s press secretary made it clear that the move had nothing to do with Martha Wilkinson’s campaign for the Democratic nomination for Governor.  The Governor’s term ended December 1991.

December 14, 2000, the EPA called out Kentucky power plants for large amounts of mercury spewing from their wastewater, claiming it is a significant hazard to public health.  The EPA mandated the pollution be reduced, with the new requirements taking effect in 2004.

December 14, 2005, the U.S. Congress renewed and modified the Patriot Act, further eroding civil liberties in the name of protecting citizens against terrorists.  

December 14, 2005, Judge Sara Combs inspects sculptor Raymond Graf’s clay statue of Governor Bert T. Combs that would eventually be cast in bronze and stand in Powell County, Comb’s adopted county.

December 14, 2015, Jordan Smith won season nine of the singing competition The Voice.